Google Shopping - Google Merchant Centre

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
13 years ago
Hi

I am just starting out with nopcommerce and playing around with the promotion providers feature. I notice that the feed for google is very thin and is for google base, not merchant centre. I recently changed shop products but had discovered that google base was becoming obsolete and has been replaced with google merchant centre for getting your products into the shopping section of google.

I learned this the hard way after submitting unique products yet they would never make it into the pages. I discovered that google recommend attributes such as category, style, colour etc which carry more weight in ranking than keywords. I painstakingly added these to my xml feeds and surprise surpise my products were on page one top five every time.

Is there anyway in nopcommerce of adding these into the xml feed in bulk or any recommended tools or scripts that anyone is using to manually edit the xml file?

I have given a sample below of what I need to get into the xml feed below. Also is there anyway to alter the submission from google base to google merchant centre. I understand that feeds added to google base are moved into merchant centre within 7 days but in my experience so far it doesnt happen at all and a manual upload to merchant centre is required.

<item>
         <title>my item</title>
         <description>my item description</description>
         <link>http://mystore.co.uk/shop/article_1-002/myitem.html?pse=coa</link>
         <g:image_link>http://mystore.co.uk/.media/542517130778.jpeg</g:image_link>
         <guid>4-282</guid>
         <g:price>10.99</g:price>
         <g:condition>new</g:condition>
         <g:product_type>Home &amp; Garden &gt</g:product_type>
          <g:colour>red</g:colour>
          <g:colour>black</g:colour>
          <g:style>contemporary</g:style
      </item>
13 years ago