Image Upload in 4.2

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
4 years ago
I'm new to nopCommerce and struggling somewhat to find a way to rapidly add product images.
At first I thought I could simply drop them into the wwroot/images folder, add records to Picture adding the file name and path in VirtualPath, then the corresponding map in Product_Picture_Mapping, but that failed.
I then manually added some images to see what it did and realised the image name corresponds to the ID in Picture, so, rather than rename all images I figured I'd use the existing tools to download the existing products, add the image file path and import again. However, that also failed stating "Image cannot be loaded. Available decoders:- PNG : PngDecoder- BMP : BmpDecoder- GIF : GifDecoder- JPEG : JpegDecoder", despite all being jpg's.
This seemed odd but just to make sure, I optimised every image saving as _min.jpg to a new folder. I then modified the filepath on the Excel upload file and tried again but got the same error.
Can anyone suggest what might be wrong?
On a separate note I can see that image management appears to have been an issue in the past and that 3rd party add ons have been created to assist. Can anyone recommend one that is genuinely beneficial?
4 years ago
Others have this problem
https://www.nopcommerce.com/boards/search?searchterms=Image+cannot+be+loaded
Sometimes I had problems. I had to re-edit the file using a working file as a template.
One suggestion is to upload an image to a product the normal way via Admin.
Then see the file that is in then created in the directory.
Then for a test try and upload only that file that which was created.
At the very least this confirms you import process is correct.
4 years ago