Complete Newbie!

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
3 years ago
Hi I've been landed with a  NopCommerce site source code and a backup of a database. And I'm drowning!
I've openen it Visual Studio (as per one youtube vise suggests) and for the life of me I haven't been able to get any further,  I've tried double clicking the Nop.Web label in the hope that everything will spring into life, but nada. I'm assuming that I need to connect these files to a dbase (I've seen the wizard on other installations), but nothing  I've tried works. I then want of sourse to get the site online. Any help or even a pointer to a guide or tutorial would be a great help.
Thanks in advance, Joe
3 years ago
Are you working with a fresh nopCommerce source code ?
3 years ago
Hi have a folder with these files:

I have put the files through Visul Studio and the output is
3 years ago
Do you know the major release version of the source code?

I would install SQL Server Express instance locally on your dev box (if you don't have already). and also install SSMS to manage the instance. Connect to local SQL express, create a new blank/empty database. Also create a 2nd blank db (with your database name) and restore your SQL backup  file into it.

in source code, look for file datasettings.json in src\Presentation\Nop.Web\App_Data  - if its there, MOVE it out of the way (to desktop maybe)

In VS compile and run/debug the source code it should reach the 'Install' page. Configure the install page to configure a new local nopCommerce instance/db (using the blank/empty db above). After some time, new instance should be ready.

now look again in src\Presentation\Nop.Web\App_Data  - a new datasettings.json will have been created. Modify the connection string to point to your restored db. Run/debug again. see if it will run the expected store.