pictures stored in databse vs filesystem

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
14 Jahre weitere
hi, i have just downloaded v1.4 and was curious about how the pictures are stored - i have been following topic

https://www.nopcommerce.com/Boards/Topic.aspx?TopicID=906&p=3

which is about storing pictures outside the database and thumbnail quality. I note that v1.4 has improved picture generation but i was looking at v1.4   picturemanager.cs   and (though i'm not a programmer)  it looks like the pictures are still saved to the database.

I particularly want the files saved to the file system rather than to the database and was following the advice in the above post for a new (then) version of  picturemanager.cs  which offered improved thumbnail image generation and stored images in the filesystem. Perfect for me !

However, I see that picturemanager.cs  is now stored in a different location
(Nop.BusinessLogic/media/       rather than Nop.Common/media/    )

so I would like to know :
1) does nopcommerce still save images in the database

2) if so then does the new picturemanager.cs  create as good as/better quality images (and thumbnails) than picturemanager.cs  fix from the above post

3) assuming that images are still saved in the database, is the fix from the above post going to work with v1.4

4) if I compile the project with the picturemanager.cs changes, can i copy just a couple of the files ie
Nop.BusinessLogic.dll
Nop.BusinessLogic.pdb
Nop.BusinessLogic.xml
into the bin folder of existing v1.4 websites rather than recompile each one ?

thanks, hayden
14 Jahre weitere
The picture manager yes still stores images in the database.   For a future upgrade would love to see a nop_setting with the option of store images in the file system.

Hayden I 'm going to need storing images in the filesystem on the project I am working on.  So give me a day and I'll get this sorted.

Thanks,
Matthew
14 Jahre weitere