Upgrading from 2.7 to 3.3

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
Il y a 9 ans
Hi everyone.  Great community.

I am a noob here and really trying to help out a friend in need.  They are currently in 2.7 and need to get to 3.3.  They are using Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio to manage their database.  I am not sure where to start.  I've had to google bits and pieces here for things, such as backing up the database.  I am not sure what I would be backing up and how to restore should I need to roll back in case something goes wrong.  I am not sure how to run the upgrade scripts, and if I need to upload new site files per version every time I run the scripts until I finally get to 3.3.  I am just concerned that I could crash the site and have no Idea how to restore it all back.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Il y a 9 ans
Depending on whether the site has been customized, upgrading might involve different steps. I recommend hiring professionals to do it if you are not familiar. ;)
Il y a 9 ans
typevu wrote:
Hi everyone.  Great community.

I am a noob here and really trying to help out a friend in need.  They are currently in 2.7 and need to get to 3.3.  They are using Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio to manage their database.  I am not sure where to start.  I've had to google bits and pieces here for things, such as backing up the database.  I am not sure what I would be backing up and how to restore should I need to roll back in case something goes wrong.  I am not sure how to run the upgrade scripts, and if I need to upload new site files per version every time I run the scripts until I finally get to 3.3.  I am just concerned that I could crash the site and have no Idea how to restore it all back.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

it will be a enormous work.

1.export the data as  SQL sentence, execute SQL statement in the new database, or you can just backup it and restore.