Could someone explain/correct in layman terms how to upgrade a site with Webmatrix, and yes I read the instructions, but they are Chinese for non-init

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
Il y a 6 ans
I am an absolute beginner and
so far, what I understood is:

- make backup : I copied the site to a desktop file

- execute upgrade script : I downloaded, extracted, opened the file in Webmatrix and I pressed CTRL A and CTRL C to copy it

- opened the file with the old site copied the DB in another file

- opened file old DB in Webmatrix, pressed new DB at the bottom, new query, pasted the upgrade script with CTRL V and pressed Execute in top bar

- in a new file : I downloaded the new version, extracted it and added App_Data installedPlugins.txt and settings.txt from the very first version of the site

- so the new file has nothing but the  App_Data installedPlugins.txt and settings.txt from earlier original version

- Questions / what I miss to understand : is the only thing you upgrade the DB ? How do you integrate the executed DB in the new version ?

- I have tried very hard, by copying and pasting parts of the other two updates that were made earlier by someone else - but I can not run the new version

Thank you for assisting !
Il y a 6 ans
What version do you have and what version are trying to upgrade to?

Is there any custom modifications to the core?
Il y a 6 ans
Thank you for your reply.  I have a 2.80 that was updated 5 years ago from 2.60.  It was made from the no source version and some adaptations have been made.
Il y a 6 ans
sognamaria wrote:
Thank you for your reply.  I have a 2.80 that was updated 5 years ago from 2.60.  It was made from the no source version and some adaptations have been made.

I would suggest you to do it manually.

http://docs.nopcommerce.com/display/en/Upgrading+nopCommerce
Il y a 6 ans
sognamaria wrote: