Credit Card Number Security

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
14 anos atrás
Hi all. I'm just getting started with an evaluation of nopCommerce and was browsing the application structure. I was especially interested in how credit card information was managed and secured by the application. There were a couple of things that I noted that concerned me a  bit. I was hoping that the community might comment on them:

1) Per PCI DSS 1.1, storage of CVC2/CVV2/CID is not allowed, even in encrypted format. I noted that on the Nop_Order table CardCVV2 is stored

2) TripleDES is used to encrypt card information but the private key is stored in the same database as the card information, which although not explicitly violating PCI, would appear to be a poor key management approach.

Please note that I'm not bashing here I think this is a wonderful application with lots and lots of potential. I'm more interested in if anyone else sees the above as concerns and if so, thoughts on approaches for addressing those concerns.

-Ed
14 anos atrás
1) CVV is stored only for "Manual Processing" payment method.
2) The private key is not stored in the same database. It's stored in web.config
14 anos atrás
Thanks for the update. I can see now the storage of CVV2 for manual processing as tested againstr a PayPal sandbox account. However, the encryption key appears to be stored in Nop_Setting table as Security.EncryptionPrivateKey and retrieved via the settings manager. Where in web.config is it located?

-Ed
14 anos atrás
Sorry. You're aboslutely right. Encyption key is stored in the database.
14 anos atrás
IMO getting some certification behind nopCommerce should be on the roadmap.  I really like the app much better than most of the others out there, but many of our clients specify PCI certification, PA-DSS, etc.  If we had some certification to show clients, we'd drop ASPDotNetStorefront in a heartbeat.
14 anos atrás