where to change the database connection string?

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
11 anos atrás
I am very new to nopCommerce, and Visual Studio. I have over 10 years of daily experience coding in classic ASP, but am clueless with this stuff.

My Goal:
Get nopcommerce site running locally, then publish to a dedicated server, but with the database running on SQL Azure.

Progress thus far:
Site is running at localhost on CE edition of SQL Server.
I have successfully created a SQL Azure database and run the Azure migration assistant. Now I have exact copy of database running on Azure, but I cannot figure out how to change the connection properties. I see a section in the web.config that refers to the SQL Server CE:

<system.data>
    <DbProviderFactories>
      <remove invariant="System.Data.SqlServerCe.4.0" />
      <add name="Microsoft SQL Server Compact Data Provider 4.0" invariant="System.Data.SqlServerCe.4.0" description=".NET Framework Data Provider for Microsoft SQL Server Compact" type="System.Data.SqlServerCe.SqlCeProviderFactory, System.Data.SqlServerCe, Version=4.0.0.1, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=89845dcd8080cc91" />
    </DbProviderFactories>
  </system.data>

I'm not sure how to change that, or if that's even what I'm supposed to change..

I tried adding this to the web.config(with actual values), but it is still pulling data from the local machine:
    <connectionStrings>
        <add connectionString="Server=xxxxxx.database.windows.net;Uid=MY-UID-HERE;Database=MY-DATABASE-NAME-HERE;Pwd=MY-PASSWORD-HERE" name="MY-DATABASE-NAME-HERE" providerName="System.Data.SqlClient" />
    </connectionStrings>

Any help would be greatly appreciated-

Thanks,
Steve
11 anos atrás
App_Data/Settings.txt
11 anos atrás
SWW wrote:
App_Data/Settings.txt

That's the ticket...thanks a million!

I guess since I've got the topic open..
My next trick is to migrate the local site to my dedicated server.