Exception Handling

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
14 anos atrás
Hi,

I am new to NopCommerce and I like the functionality on the whole, but there seems to be very little exception handling in the code.

I have already managed to crash the Admin app several times just by entering data through the gui and today I have crashed the actual store by completing an order and then going back through the pages to the cart and changing the Qty, as it did not have an object instantiated at that time.

Am I going to have to go through the entire app adding exception handling?
or is there something I am missing?

Cheers
14 anos atrás
I've not experienced that.

Post the errors AND version you are using.

Hosted or Local?
14 anos atrás
I am using 1.4 and Visual Studio 2008 web server facility for development and testing.

Here are a few of the places I have crashed it.

The point being that there are very few try catch blocks in the code so any error not accounted for and handled in the code will end up displaying the catch all error page with all the details in it, which is not what an end user wants or should see.

Errors in the back end should be handled or passed up the chain with a more user friendly message.

There is such a lot of code in the Nop I don't relish the thought of going through it all adding try catches, which is what I am feeling ought to be done.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

protected global::NopSolutions.NopCommerce.Web.Administration.Modules.CategoryAddControl ctrlCategoryAdd;

<%@ Register TagPrefix="nopCommerce" TagName="CategoryInfo" Src="CategoryInfo.ascx" %>

Category

Error is not handled when user has added a new template with an incorrect templatePath
and then tries to select that template for a category

namespace NopSolutions.NopCommerce.Web
{