Upgrading 3.6 to 4.0 + Changing database from SQLCE to SQLSERVER

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
6 年 前
Hi there,

tl;dr:

• nopCommerce 3.6 with SQL Compact database
• Need to upgrade to 4.0 with SQL Server database
• Able to convert SQL CE .SDF to .SQL (but might be doing it wrong)
• Can load up .SQL and execute query without errors
• nopCommerce 3.6 throws "Error Happened" dialog box alert on various screens (e.g. "Manage Products")
• I can has advice plz? :-)

Longer version:

I'm a web developer / sysadmin with a strong background in *NIX environments and all thing LAMP-stack, and I'm perhaps "intermediately comfortable" when it comes to MS / IIS environments. I should also mention that I have zero familiarity with nopCommerce.

No less, I am trying to help a new client with an existing nopCommerce 3.6 site that relies on an SQL Compact .SDF database.

It's my understanding that in order to upgrade to nopCommerce to 4.0, a number of database upgrades need to happen, none of which are possible with an SQL Compact database.

As such, my first step in all of this has been to work on migrating the SQL Compact .SDF database to an SQL Server database.

My first attempt went as follows:

• I used a 3rd-party program called "CompactView" to open the .SDF file and export it to a .SQL file
• I created an MSSQL Server 2014 database on the host
• I connected to the database with SQL Server Management Studio 14
• I opened the .SQL file and clicked "Execute Query"

The .SQL file is about 89.5 million lines, so it took a good half hour to execute, but reported errors when done. So, I dropped all of the tables out of the DB, and sought out a more "official" way of doing things.