Populating large product database

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
13 years ago
Hi Everyone,

my name is Alex, i'm new to nopCommerce, so please pardon me if i sound like a noob.

I've searched this forum and many others, I've tried suggestions that were already given to others doesn't work for me

at this point i need to populate over a million (1,000,000) products, the only information i really need is price, sku, weight.
I dont need image, or lots of description. By using administration panel to upload excel files would take months to upload, and by trial and error, i concluded that this way it takes max of just under 5000 items at a time, that's already with adjusted http request in web.config etc.

tried importing by using SQL tools, i created a product in admin panel, filled out as much info as i could, exported to a flat file Nop_Product and Nop_ProductVariant using SQL import/export tool. deleted the item and tried importing the same exported flat files. Nop_product imported succesfully, but Nop_ProductVariant does not import, error VS_ISBROKEN.

Although by importing only Nop_Product the item shows up in the admin panel, but i would still have to manually add variants price, weight, etc.

Also tried creating SSIS package with combinations of dataflows, derived, columns, and conversion, and all sorts of variations with no luck

I might be missing something obvious, but i just cant figure this out. if someone can please help me, i'm even willing to pay a reasonable amount :)

another question might be simple, how can i show weight variant on a product details page for customers to see.

Thank you guys in advance.
13 years ago
I def wouldn't upload 1,000,000 products via http.

I would recommend creating a small console or windows forms app that processes your data file. That way, you can ensure a consistent connection.