[2.1] Fresh installation, but very slow

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
12 years ago
Hi,

Im new to nopCommerce (have just been waiting for the MVC release) and started to play around with the 2.1 version now.
I got default installation/theme/db, custom language resourcepack, 2 products and 1 customer.
(using MSSQL)

This should be pretty basic, but it feels like its running in syrup. Very slow.
Its running on my own server and I also have other asp.net apps running very fine.

This forum is also on the same server (asp.net + mssql) but is a very fast (so no hw issue)

What could be wrong?
12 years ago
And yes web.config have debug mode=false. Anyone else having those kind of problems?
12 years ago
I agree. I just installed 2.1.  I have to admit... i don't have any experience with the earlier versions so i dont know what to expect. I created a default database using sql server 2008 r2 on my own and installed there.  I have an i5 laptop.

I do feel that the server response time for clicking on simple things... such as categories... is abnormally slow.  I get about a 2 second response time on clicks.
12 years ago
I get the same thing it takes 2-3 seconds to respond
12 years ago
I was considering that normal, didn't seem that painful to me... I would argue I get the same 2-3 second delay after clicking something on Amazon.com also.

NopCom is pretty huge as is the DB schema, I don't think it feels slow really, its not instant, but not many apps like this are?

Also by default I believe images are stored in the DB, so that's bound to slow things down, especially if you have a large image.  I would say you need a decent hosting provider for NopCommerce, I tried nHosting shared from Network Solutions, and their shared SQL environment is MUCH to slow for an app like this.
12 years ago
Im just talking about the raw HTML here (no images, styling etc)
You could easily see this by using tools like Firebug.