Plugin Help

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
12 years ago
First off, I'm new to nopCommerce but I like what I see so far and have had a lot of success with getting up to this point.  Half way through this project I decided to upgrade to the latest 2.1 version and, so far am really impressed by the new syntax.

I'm trying to create a separation of a couple of controls which are used on the Single Variant and Variant in Grid templates.  Specifically I am trying to have a different related products control for the single variant and variant in grid templates.  It's mostly for aesthetic reasons at this time but there may be other reasons for the separation in the future.  

My solution for this problem at this point was very direct but I believe it will cause me problems in the future.  

My solution:
in the CatalogController.cs file add the following code for a second razor page;

[ChildActionOnly]
        public ActionResult RelatedProductsNEW(int productId)
        {
            var product = _productService.GetProductById(productId);
            if (product == null)
                throw new ArgumentException("No product found with the specified id");

var products = _productService.SearchProducts(0,
                0, null, null, null, productId, 0, null, false,
                0, null, ProductSortingEnum.Position, 0, int.MaxValue);

var model = products.Select(x => PrepareProductOverviewModel(x)).ToList();

return PartialView(model);
        }

Then I copied the RelatedProducts.cshtml file in Views/Catalog and named RelatedProductsNEW.cshtml.  Point the Variants in Grid template to the RelatedProductsNew control and bingo!!!

Recompiled and it created a new nop.web.dll which ran perfectly.  

Only problem.  Upgrades...