Override Features Via Plugin

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
12 years ago
Hi All,

I'm new to nopCommerce and quite new to MVC. I'd like to make a number of bespoke changes to the system without making changes to the core framework, allowing me to update to the latest version without loasing all my changes.

I've been looking through and I figure that doing my changes through a custom plugin would probably be the best solution.

I've got my plugin setup but I'm looking for some guidance on how I can modify and override functionality from the confinds of my plugin.

Some things I would like to do include:

- Override the homepage meta title and description.
- Add a canonical tag to the homepage

Can someone point me in the right direction to do the above from my plugin? Does anyone know of any good resources for extending the nopCommerce functionality using plugins?
12 years ago
I'd really love to know more about this too. I have been making changes to the core code but I need to spend some time researching plugins and how best to approach it - any advice (or sample code) will be greatly appreciated.
12 years ago
Scrooby wrote:
Hi All,

I'm new to nopCommerce and quite new to MVC. I'd like to make a number of bespoke changes to the system without making changes to the core framework, allowing me to update to the latest version without loasing all my changes.

I've been looking through and I figure that doing my changes through a custom plugin would probably be the best solution.

I've got my plugin setup but I'm looking for some guidance on how I can modify and override functionality from the confinds of my plugin.

Some things I would like to do include:

- Override the homepage meta title and description.
- Add a canonical tag to the homepage