Can someone explain themes?

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
14 years ago
Hello,
    I'm not a novice developer and I'm quite familiar with asp.net.

I'm perplexed, and perhaps I just haven't looked in the right place but...

We have an existing website. We want to add eCommerce to the functionality and we've decided to use nopCommerce (it looks a fantastic product).

I want to keep our site exactly as it was, but add a few links that will connect our customers to the checkout. My problem is this.

I've created (copied) an existing theme (darkOrange), renamed it as a new theme, and have chosen it in the configuration. I will customize this soon, however it's fine for testing as it is. When I access nop pages I can see in the source that it's pointing to the correct css files. BUT... somehow our original existing pages, once added to the nop project, (and are not connected to the nop master pages whatsoever) are picking up on the nop css!!! Further, they are picking up from the DarkOrange theme, not the new theme that I've added to the configuration.

Does anyone have an explanation? Or could someone point me to the file where nop overrides the default system.web.ui.page or some other voodoo???

Thanks
14 years ago
You said you will customize it soon, that means you have the same theme files.

You may try to remove the cache files of your browser and restart the application. After all css files are meant to be downloaded once. And all the themes will have the same name css files master.css, category.css, product.css
14 years ago
Hi jongbc,
      Thanks but that wasn't the problem.

Rather than explaining exactly what was going wrong, perhaps I'll explain my solution.

I was attempting to put both my existing site and nopCommerce at the same level on our website.