Advance Search Option

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
14 years ago
Hi,

I have no knowledge about codes.
The product for my online store is Books.
People do wish to search books not only by there title or description but also by ISBN or Bar code or by Authors.

For all pages a simple search box that search Product Name i.e. Book Title is fine but for the Search Page by default there is only one option that is to search in Product Description.

What I need for my online store Advance Search page are few Text boxes i.e. Search Title, Search ISBN, Search Bar Code, Search Author, Search Description. The buyer can use any of these fields or more then one field to search his desired book.

Can anyone help me with this please.
14 years ago
maybe it is useful for you to know if you do not realise:

entering text in the main search box searches only product title, but you will notice that on the search.aspx page, you can select the option to search also product descriptions - this searches both the short and long descriptions for each product - i presume your author , ISBN, bar code etc. information is stored in the descriptions? So, i search should find these items for your customer.
14 years ago
I will be having separate columns for ISBN, Bar Code & Author in Product table...
so I guess the search page with the option to search description will not be able to search that.

That's the reason I want 5 Texboxes in Search page for Book Title, ISBN, Bar Code, Author, Description.
Viewer can fill search text in any one or more then 1 textbox at a time to search his desired books.
14 years ago
Without modifying any code, you could use the product variant sku field to hold the author, ISBN, and barcode (up to 100 characters) as this field is searched by default (in addition to product and product variant name fields) and is not displayed on the product's page.