nopCommerce 3.5 and VS 2013 - How to publish

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
9 years ago
I'm new to nopCommerce.  I can run the product on my desktop PC.  Now I want to publish to my domain at my hosting company.  When I designed and developed web form web sites using VS 2013, I would do this:

1. Rebuild my project.
2. Publish my project by using the FTP option on the Publish page.

But I read on one of the forums that this is not the way to deploy nopCommerce.  The documentation says to do this:

1. Open the solution in Visual Studio
2. Re-build the entire solution
3. Publish the "Nop.Web" project from Visual Studio
P.S. When publishing ensure that configuration is set to "Release"

But what options do I use on the Publish page?  Do I select "Deploy" or "Deploy Package"?  I can't seem to find any more info other than the above.  I also read about prepare.bat and deploy.bat.  But I don't know where these bat files are stored.

Seems like there should be step-by-step deployment instructions somewhere to get nopCommerce deployed at my hosting company.  Can someone point me in the right direction?
9 years ago
Look for a tutorial on web deploying for your hosting provider, or a tutorial for your IIS version if you are not using a web panel.

Tutorial for Arvixe:
http://blog.arvixe.com/how-to-use-web-deploy-to-deploy-your-website/

Tutorial for IIS 8 or newer:
http://www.iis.net/learn/install/installing-publishing-technologies/installing-and-configuring-web-deploy-on-iis-80-or-later

When you setup IIS directly with Web Deploy, and configure it on your site it will create a .PublishSettings file, that you can import into visual studio.
9 years ago