Sales Tax by City not Zip?

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
14 years ago
Complete newbie to nopCommerce. Can't find this topic in search. Hoping someone has a work around I can borrow for this.

Tax by zip code doesn't work in the US since some zip codes straddle more than 1 state.

The state of California sometimes has different tax rates for each city/town -- and some zip codes straddle more than one town so the state only provides current tax rate tables WITHOUT zip codes.

How do I correctly set up/input tax rates for the entire state if the only way to sort tax in nopCommerce is by zip code?
14 years ago
There are 2 options (But i guess for your situation 2nd option is for you )

Option 1

To set the tax up once and apply it to all products:
1. Go to Admin area > Configuration > Tax > Tax Providers. Activate "Fixed Rate Tax" provider
2. Go to its details and set your fixed tax rate.

Option 2

Go to Admin Section > Configuration > Tax > Tax Classes

1. Create one tax class
2. Assign each product to this tax class (While storing products in your database)
3. Go to Admin area > Configuration > Tax > Tax Providers. Activate "Tax By Country & State" provider (Click on "Edit")
4. Choose 2nd tabs "Configure"

Configure your tax rates for your state for each zip code (By Adding new tax rate button"

Like this :
State : New Jersey
Zip: ENTER ZIP CODE
Choose TAX CLASS : What you created above
Percentage : 8.8

SAVE

and so one...for each zip code (state will remain same for all zip code as you want to store all the zipcodes within the state)

I know this is a very time comsuming process as each state can have 1000's of zip codes, yes you gotta store all zip codes one by one along with the tax rate, there is no other way.
14 years ago
abcd_12345 wrote:

and so one...for each zip code (state will remain same for all zip code as you want to store all the zipcodes within the state)