About Web page Design and nopCommerce...

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
13 years ago
Dear all.

Sorry that I have a noob question here. I did a search on this forum but didn't find any answers..

We have our nopCommerce customised (logic) and it's almost ready, but we're missing the web design... So regarding web design, what do we need to tell the web designer?

1) I know nopCommerce uses master pages and CSS, but are there any special rules and style that the designer have to conform to work with nopCommerce?

2) And after we have the design and it looks aesthetically wonderful and such... who should integrate the design into nopCommerce? I mean the web designer don't know about nopCommerce logic, and the programmer usually isn't very good with design. So who shall do what?

My apology again for I'm really a noob in this area. Your kind advise is greatly appreciated.
13 years ago
Fortunately both questions can be answered in one as it's quite simple :)

NopCommerce enforces a good seperation of concerns. Your designer won't have to touch or understand any code - although it would help if he has some basic knowledge of ASP.NET.

What he has to do is create a new skin, which is just CSS. Go into the folder NopCommerceStore\App_Themes, copy one of the themes into a new folder, and then alter it to your heart's content. Activate that skin in Administration\Configuration\Global Settings\Store theme.

If that proves insufficient he can also edit the master pages in NopCommerceStore\MasterPages. And if THAT proves insufficient the individual aspx pages can be edited. (This is all ASP/HTML markup btw, not C#).

If you make changes to master pages and/or aspx files I'd recommend keeping a changelog to help you when it becomes time to upgrade to a new version of NopCommerce.
13 years ago
Thanks for the reply.