Creating an integrated version of nopcommerce from a custom design

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
13 years ago
Hello

I have agreed for a client to create from scratch an ecommerce solution for selling goods online. I am a software developer so I am comfortable with the code base, however I have hired a designer to create the HTML / CSS to the client requirements. I will then integrate the HTML and CSS that these chaps produce.

I was wondering if you could give me an idea as to what this process entails from the point where you have a reasonable idea what you want the site to look and function like (we're at early stages here), to the point where you have integrated the CSS and HTML that your designers produce. I suppose i'm asking for a bit of your knowledge about the .net code base and the wisdom of any integration experience from previously created designs.

Are there any posts I may have missed on this? Are there a set of best practices / previous developer stories, success or otherwise?

regards

ihk
13 years ago
Couple of things:

Utilize the templates.  They offer the easiest way to layout your pages the way you want without having to create new master pages (unless you want a 3 column layout or something like that).  By using templates you can ensure the default templates and layout aren't altered.  You can  also create seasonal templates that can be changed from the admin area.

Depending on how you want your site to work and what types of products you sell, ProductVariantsInGrid.ascx can cause some problems if want to use Product variants but not have them repeated the way the logic of that control works.  There are some good work-arounds I have used depending on the application.

Get to know the built in methods and code base.  More than likely your client will want some sort of 'Not out of the box' feature.  NopCommerce is wide open and leaves a lot of room for imaginative ideas.