website searching - Is there a fulltext and match/against tool in MS SQL?

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
13 years ago
I may be a little off but I know in mySql you can make a field as Full Text and searchable.

then using the  MATCH/AGAINST tools it will do a basic search of the fields "title" and "body" from the below example.
the against column is not literal so something like "Green Chamo Shirt" will return ranked results in title and body where any one of "green", "chamo","shirt" show up giving higher rankings to all 3 words showing up.

example of mysql query:

SELECT * FROM articles
        WHERE MATCH(title, body) AGAINST ('Green Chamo Shirts')

could return products with: (ordered by ranking of relevance)

Green Chamo Shirts
Shirts with Chamo patterns
Green Shirts
Green shoes
Shirts

etc.

The million dollar question does ms sql have the same or similar function?

I am new to MS SQL so I am still learning and was planning on making that change in the search functions myself once/if I figure it out.

the only other way is to break each search term into tokens and create a on the fly query based on each word.  Seems like a lot of hits to the data base.  or perhaps a stored procedure.

What I want to do is simple search text that is contained in my descriptions,product title,possibly even the SEO keywords etc for a given product so that I get relevant search results.  Right now it only looks at the product variant product title only.  Which I know I need to change myself.

anyway if anyone has any direction I would greatly appreciate it.
13 years ago
Go here to download the sql script:
http://nopcommerce.codeplex.com/workitem/7651
13 years ago
wow!  that is great.
I was working last night on enabling full text and starting the daunting task of hunting down the code.

but now you have saved me hours and hours of work.

Thanks a lot.  I really appreciate that you took the time to respond.