Is it time to give up?

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
13 years ago
I am new to nopcommerce. One of the main reasons I'd like to try it out is that it appears you can use different product templates per product.

I have a spare PC here with window7 ultimate, but do you think that I can get the software to work? I lost count of how many hours I have spent trying to get it to go.

I have done a few sites using opencart and it's a no brainer. Seems every where I read, people say nopcommerce should be up and going in a few minutes. I just can't get my head around why it won't work.

I must admit I haven't forked out the $19.95 for the manual, I was hoping to try it out before I did. However I am willing to buy the manual now, if someone can tell me that it has a step by step local server installation guide included?

If some kind forum member is will to help me out I'd be more than happy to outline the steps I have taken.

Thanks for looking.
13 years ago
Please explain exactly what problems you run into so we can assist.

BR
Joakim
13 years ago
Make sure that the app pool in IIS is set to .net version 4. Sometimes you need to reinstall .net. Search google for "reinstall net 4".

Its really easy, you just run one program and its done.
13 years ago
I have had a number of different goes at getting it working so my steps will probably seem a little strange now :-)

1: Initially I tried installing it using Microsoft Web Platform Installer.
2: I have IIS 7.0 Extensions Installed
3: I have Microsoft SQL Server 2008 installed and Microsoft SQL Server 2008 R2
4: I have a folder called inetpub at the root directory. In there is a folder wwwroot and in there is the folder "nopcommerce"

Initially when I browsed to http://localhost/nopcommerce/install/install.aspx I got the installation screen, but I wasn't sure how to create the database / or link to it.