Idiots guide to VWDE installion needed?

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
13 years ago
Hi
I have been building my shop with the no source version (1.8) hosted on my website  but find now I need to edit some of the source to meet my requirements, edit shipping calculations etc.

I want to reinstall the site using the source code version but the process in the manual is fairly ambiguous. As I am not a developer would someone  be kind enough to give me some quick bullets of the steps required? Specifically, I am not sure of the following.

1. Do I compile the site locally or do I upload the source to my webspace and compile it from there?
2.Once compiled do I run the nopcommerce installation locally or upload to the webspace first ? As my sql server is provided by my host I do not know how I could configure the database when compilation is localt?
3. How do I get the site uploaded to my host from VWDE?
4. How do I edit the source code once installed? Do I edit it in the local project and then upload to the website and how, or do I connect to website from VWDE and edit directly then save any changes I make?
5. How do I manage change control or do I simply backup the site before I change anything each time?

I will be really grateful if someone can help me out as a I am a newbie

Thanks in advance
13 years ago
Just to note I don't use Visual Web Developer Express, but standard Visual Studio.

1. Do I compile the site locally or do I upload the source to my webspace and compile it from there?

Compile it locally, then upload.

2. Once compiled do I run the nopcommerce installation locally or upload to the webspace first ? As my sql server is provided by my host I do not know how I could configure the database when compilation is localt?