SQL Error

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
13 years ago
Hi,

I've installed nopCommerce using the Microsoft Web Platform installer. When I run the setup the following SQL error is returned:

A network-related or instance-specific error occurred while establishing a connection to SQL Server. The server was not found or was not accessible. Verify that the instance name is correct and that SQL Server is configured to allow remote connections. (provider: Named Pipes Provider, error: 40 - Could not open a connection to SQL Server).

I've done nothing but select the default options here so any help would be very much appreciated. I've tired a few various fixes suggested on blog posts but I'm new to SQL server, and none of them have worked.

I'd really like to have a good look at nopCommerce to compare with other carts, but the install is not the easiest to say the least.

Thanks for your help,
Paul.
13 years ago
Is your installation running on a host or on your local machine?

You need to tell the installer the network adress of your SQL server, if your site is hosted then your host will be able to tell you that information, otherwise you need to enter the details for the server on your own machine :)
13 years ago
Thanks for the reply. It's on my local machine - where do I need to enter those details?
13 years ago
Forgive me if I post something that seems really obvious :)

You must have IIS up and running with ASP.NET 4 correctly configured and the site listed as an application.

You must also have SQL Server (or the Express version) running on your machine.

When you first browse to the site, probably using http://localhost/ or however you have it configured for a URL, it will detect that it isn't set-up yet and will run through the configuration process which is probably where you are getting the error?