Development Best practices for modifying nopcommerce code

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
2 years ago
Hi, I am new to nopCommerce development.
nopCommerce version : 4.40.3

I want to extend functionalities in nop admin,

for eg: I want customer edit form to have upload picture functionality.
I could see that category has this functionality build in.
I could reuse the same and modify the code to get it working.

But this would make it difficut for getting nop updated in future.

I was searching and could not find an easy solution for the latest project.

Could any one share a good way to do this in latest version.
2 years ago
You can introduce a widget plugin to add a view at "AdminWidgetZones.CustomerDetailsBlock" widget zone.
Thus the view will be populated at the bottom of the customer edit details screen, where you can allow admin to add picture/avatar for that customer.

The way NivoSlider plugin follow to add view at "PublicWidgetZones.HomepageTop" widget zone, you can follow same for "AdminWidgetZones.CustomerDetailsBlock" widget zone.
Don't forget to receive customer model as parameter at your view component, here you will get current details page customer id.
As you are new in nopCommerce, this task might be tough for you, so please first understand NivoSlider plugin properly then go for it.
If you need more help please ask. Thanks.
2 years ago
@rmahbub63

Thanks for the reply I could get the admin pannel in customers to override my needs.

I have a confusion now :
how do I save data from there ,
Lets say I added a section which adds some custom data, (I know I could use ajax to save this)

or is it done using the save call from customer, should I override the controller and override methods and make additional changes.

not sure which method to follow.
2 years ago