Installation Problems

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
13 years ago
Hi I am new to nopCommerce but do have experience in using Prestashop, OSCommerce, Zen and others. I love the look of nopCommerce but am frustrated by the difficulty and lack of instruction in installing nopCommerce.

Is it me or is this the most unfriendly installation process I have ever seen.

Unless I pay for an installation guide there is only sketchy info about how to install. I will pay for one, if I decide to use nopCommerce but I want to set up one test website to try it out first.

I have viewed various youtube videos and read what I can find but very little helps. I downloaded nopCommerce 1.9 with source code.

This consists of 7 folders (libraries/nopcommercestore/payment/promotionproviders/shipping/tax/dependencies) plus nopcommerce.sln.

I am using an existing spare website without an existing ecommerce store as a test site, using a folder called store.

For the past 2 days I have been trying to get this to install with no luck at all.

First of all I uploaded all these files to the server exactly as they are when unzipped.

If I then navigate to http://www.mystore.com/store/install/install.aspx but the page doesn't exist (404 error). I can see the path to this in my files but nothing is there when I navigate to it. I just get The requested URL /store/install/install.aspx was not found on this server.

I decided to delete everything and start again. This time I put the contents of each of the 7 folders all into the store folder but that doesn't work either.

Can someone help by offerring a clear short instruction procedure. Do I upload all 7 folders plus the .sln file to my store folder or not. If I do, why can't I get anything to happen when I navigate to the install.aspx?

Obviously I must be doing something wrong, but have run out of ideas now.