Help on new Payment Method - nullException

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
13 years ago
I am new to NopCommerce and have been trying to create a new payment gateway.

I simply replicated PayInStore payment method and renamed it to NewPayment to have a baseline which I will edit later on. However doing so, I still received a null Exception:

Value cannot be null.
Parameter name: type
Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code.

Exception Details: System.ArgumentNullException: Value cannot be null.
Parameter name: type

Source Error:

Line 533:            if (paymentMethod == null)
Line 534:                return decimal.Zero;
Line 535:            var iPaymentMethod = Activator.CreateInstance(Type.GetType(paymentMethod.ClassName)) as IPaymentMethod;
Line 536:            
Line 537:            decimal result = iPaymentMethod.GetAdditionalHandlingFee();

Source File: C:\Users\ritchieanxa\Documents\Visual Studio 2010\Projects\nopCommerce_1.90_Source\Libraries\Nop.BusinessLogic\Payment\PaymentService.cs    Line: 535

Stack Trace:

[ArgumentNullException: Value cannot be null.
Parameter name: type]
   System.Activator.CreateInstance(Type type, Boolean nonPublic) +9643414
   System.Activator.CreateInstance(Type type) +6
   NopSolutions.NopCommerce.BusinessLogic.Payment.PaymentService.GetAdditionalHandlingFee(Int32 paymentMethodId) in C:\Users\ritchieanxa\Documents\Visual Studio 2010\Projects\nopCommerce_1.90_Source\Libraries\Nop.BusinessLogic\Payment\PaymentService.cs:535
   NopSolutions.NopCommerce.Web.Modules.CheckoutPaymentMethodControl.FormatPaymentMethodInfo(PaymentMethod paymentMethod) in C:\Users\ritchieanxa\Documents\Visual Studio 2010\Projects\nopCommerce_1.90_Source\NopCommerceStore\Modules\CheckoutPaymentMethod.ascx.cs:50