Need tips for successful search engine crawling, Google, Bing, Yahoo

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
14 years ago
I wanted to built some reports on successful search engine crawling, and tips anyone had for having products appear in Google's shopping engine, as well as search engine crawling for key words ect., I'm kind of new to adapting meta-data and internal-linking (to increase "organic search" level--man I love internet buzzwords)

Ideas, tips, tricks, ect. ect.!

Right now, I am working on adding a meta-tag generated by Google to my homepage, assuming this is 'default.aspx' that is generated when you visit the webstore, so I'm looking to locate this file.

-->Update: located the source of the HTML that the ASP handler sends to the front page, using a basic nopComm. installation v1.2, I found it in /masterpages/root.master/ from there I was able to add simple java-script for Google analytics.

I also added the google generated HTML page to my root directory to trigger the indexing.

Anyone have any thoughts on meta data that should be associated with individual products, or the page itself?

ps. I also wacked my meta file from the "All Settings" editor as I was trying to edit it to get it to push the meta-data into my main page...does anyone know about how nopCommerce distributes this meta data from page to page throughout the website and can it be adjusted using a central control, or is it something I need to find the source code for each page to change?
14 years ago
Hi, not sure what you mean by "wacked" the META info from settings but the default META Title / Description / Keywords can be managed from the Configuration > Global Settings > SEO/Display settings.