Advice on attribute combinations?

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
7 years ago
Newbie here...  I need to interface with an outside vendor, tying a combination of (for example) product + color + size to a single 'Variant Id.'  Any advice on the best way to do that?

In a similar vein: when I copied a product it created new size and color attributes but I would like just one set of size and color attributes - at least for variations of a product (variations meaning it is the same product from the vendor's point of view - but different products in Nop based on the different designs I apply).  I assume that's possible?

But my real issue is (beside the gnarly, manual, unsustainable approach I have now) - how to easily tie together product and attribute combinations to unique 'id's.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
7 years ago
ldl01031 wrote:
Newbie here...  I need to interface with an outside vendor, tying a combination of (for example) product + color + size to a single 'Variant Id.'  Any advice on the best way to do that?

If you generate the attribute combinations you can assign Sku, Manufacturer part number and GTIN fields to the individual variants.

As an example go to this page, select the Product Attributes tab, select the Attribute Combinations sub-tab and hit the Generate all possible combinations button.
7 years ago
Thanks!  I just stumbled on that last night.  It seems like the best I'm going to do, but it should be quite helpful.  I guess Nop must be parsing the AttributeXml to figure out what to show on that screen (Color: Green, Size: XS, etc.).  I don't see an easy way to figure it out from the Sql tables - maybe I need a couple of self-joins?